Stay Safe Student Guide

Written by Rebecca Fletcher

University, you’re finally here and ready to go out for your fresher’s week and start as you mean to go on for the next three years of your life. Now all that sounds great but what about the dangers? That’s right, although nobody talks about them, fresher’s week can be a dangerous situation. So I tracked down some students who have had the first hand

experiences of fresher’s week and general University life to see what advice they would give.

A student who wishes to remain anonymous spoke to me about her experience:

“I was on a night out with a bunch of my mates and it started getting late. After a while I began to feel not quite right. My drink had been spiked but I couldn’t think how it was possible. All our drinks had been kept together and never left without one of the group watching them.”

It is estimated that around 69% to 83% of women who are sexually assaulted know their attacker.

She went on to say:

“I was lucky that nothing bad happened to me but it has made me think twice about who I can trust. I guess it goes to show that even people you think are your friends can do stupid things. My advice to new students at university is have a good time but keep safe. Don’t drink so much that you don’t even know what you’re doing.

However nights out and drinking are not the only things to bear in mind when starting university. Dave Meanwell from Lincoln University spoke about his first week at university.

“The first week of university is really crazy; everyone is milling about and having parties. My mates and I threw a party in halls and loads of people turned up. The problem is you don’t know any of these people. Turns out some stuffed got broken and some stuff even went missing altogether. My advice is keep all your valuables locked up safe and try to keep an eye on what’s going on.”

Here are some top tips for keeping yourself safe and making the most out of your university experience

  • Know your limit! Don’t drink to the point where you don’t know what you’re doing.
  • Drink plenty of water to keep yourself hydrated.
  • Keep valuables locked up and out of sight.
  • Always let people know who you are with and where you’re going and when you will be back!
  • NEVER LEAVE YOUR DRINK UNATTENDED!
Leave a comment

Filed under Articles

Leave a Reply

